Marry Right @ Yugen #06

This February we completed twenty four years of our holy matrimony or wedlock as they call it and as we begin our journey towards a quarter of century of togetherness, I am submerged with mixed feelings. What began as a complete union of two unknown people in a typical arranged marriage , set up by elders of the family in less than a month, we have come a long way.

When I look back ,I know deep within me that its only because we began the relationship with each other as good friends, we shared a home ,a room, a bed , a dream , lots of difficulties at the start of our life, our insecurities ,our failures and success, our son …..who came at the right time to cement the bond further.

It is very important to communicate very clearly without any fear of being judged ,that actually creates the bond. Another important element is being respectful towards each other ,even in moments of despair.

The best relationship is not the one which is free from problems and misunderstandings.
It’s the one where one sorry and a smile can make everything perfect as before.

When I share some of my experiences with my son ,,a twenty something, I always insist that probably we came from an era where giving up on a person or relationship was just not an option. Hence one concentrated all energies on working towards making a relationship work. Also we had to start and build a lot ourselves, so walking together on a pebbled road filled with obstacles, created a united desire in us to strive hard, be resilient and have a lot of patience to achieve our dreams. We did not live in an era of instant everything… and thus developed an attitude to be more forthcoming with what came our way and accept it the way it was.

Your worst behaviour is reserved for the person who loves you the most because somehow no matter what you do, that person will always accept you as YOU

Trust and transparency are of pivotal importance if a relationship has to last . Respect and listening is equally an essential ingredient for a lasting understanding between partners. Very often we underestimate the love as duty and fail to express our gratitude to each other. We find it easy to thank our friends ,colleagues at work , acquaintances , but forget to express gratitude to our partners in life.

Each relationship has feelings and differences. It is always better to be melted in feelings than to be frozen in differences.
To more happier times I express my gratitude to my husband and best friend for being an anchor in my life ,guiding me through stormy waters that lashed our lives, holding on to my idiosyncrasies, celebrating our small wins, for a lovely ,warm and secure home, for your love ,care and concern for my well being.

Leave a comment